Going dark…      

 

  You know what they say about it… once you do it you never go back… that is kind of what I am hoping. If you did not get my humor in that first line its ok… just a play on my title… if you got it and found it not so funny?? Well loosen up your probably to uptight.

 

  Going Dark according to the urban dictionary:

 

3. Going Dark  
  To remove one’s self from all social media outlets and otherwise make oneself unavailable for contacting. Typically done in order to be more productive.

 

  Now am I going to remove myself from social media all together? No… but I have been doing a lot of thinking. When I go out to eat and I look around me I see more and more people only half listening to the person across from them as they check their phone… facebook… or whatever else they can pull up. I remember a time when we were not so connected, but more connected. I mean I knew peoples phone numbers… the operator on the phone spoke the same language that I did… when I called a company for help I got Joe Smith who knew there was a storm in my area. An honest to god, personal connection…

 

Now before you go getting your panties in a bunch, I love the internet and all it does for me… the blog you’re reading right now for instance. I have met so many wonderful people from all over the world and we keep in touch, some of which on a daily basis through *gasp* email. So I am not saying I am going to shun all form of electronic communication. I am not going to put on a tin foil hat and move to the mountains with my dog Jeb and learn how to make rabbit snares. All I am saying is that I am going to use these things for which they were intended. To keep in touch with people I normally cannot… but not live my life in an internet world. Were I do not know what time it is or where I want to call off of work because I almost beat the guy on a facebook app game and I just need more time.

 

So connected we are disconnected… I know my grandmothers phone number by heart… I have known it since kindergarten. But if you ask me my mom’s home number… my brother’s phone number… hell my kid’s cell phone number… I could not tell you without really thinking hard about it. I mean why should I? I have this cool contact with their picture that plays a song that reminds me of them with their birthdates and their email and it reminds me when to text them to tell them happy birthday I have all of that at the tip of my finger… why remember anything? My phone will give me step by step directions to their houses but I bet half the kids in the US cannot read a map… why should they? I mean really we have GPS and I mean it’s never gotten anyone lost has it?? *snicker* (don’t get me started on GPS <getting people shot>)

 

So I know I am rambling… if you knew me in person you would know that is how I work… I have had some of my best ideas right in the middle of a broken train of thought lol.

 

  So I am partially going black I think… blacking out a lot of my facebook stuff because I really don’t have time to keep up with it. I will keep it though so that I can promote the blog and my cycling activities. But I want to spend less time on the computer and on the phone and more time with people… and my dog.

 

2 or 3 days ago I was in a local store picking up stuff for the house, I looked over saw something and the kid in me started getting excited. So I bought it and went home. After we put things away and ate and all that I put it together and went outside. My kids were looking at me like a dog does when it hears a strange noise. Everyone trying to figure out what and why I was doing, I took my Green Lantern kite outside in my front yard and for about 30 min I was 7 years old again. My daughter went outside and wanted to help and my son stood there making faces and talking to his girlfriend on the phone. But we were all outside for 30 min. Had I not bought that kite… I would have sat down at my computer, checked; facebook, craigslist, email, facebook, blog, facebook, and then watched TV. Instead I had a blast! My kids had fun, my wife even stopped doing stuff inside for a few min to come out on the front porch and shake her head at me before going inside. But that was so much more fun that sitting at a computer trying to remember what I was going to type in the search box that seemed so important.

 

  So yeah I know this was all over the place… but it is what it is… I am what I am… but we are only what we make ourselves… I refuse to be assimilated.

 

 

  Smile… people who are actually looking at you and not their phones deserve that much

